Hamiltrash Tuesday: Hurricane

Hello my fellow Hamiltrash, this is the last one! Thank you so much for viewing every week! (Especially you, Katy! 😉 I’m glad you reached out to me!)

So for the very last post, I want to take a look at “Hurricane.” And I admit it, I did not like this song the first time I heard it (actually I didn’t like it until several months later). I just wasn’t a fan of the overall musical quality. And as much as I love Lin, I’m going to be a little critical here and say that I’m not a huge fan of his vocals on this particular song.

But it was the lyrics that changed my mind.

I’m obsessed with “Hurricane”‘s lyrics. They’re just so beautiful and relatable to me that I couldn’t help but fall in love with them. I may have mixed feelings about Lin’s vocals here, but he absolutely slayed when he wrote the words to this song.

So in the show’s context, Jefferson, Madison, and Burr have just confronted Ham because they think he might be embezzling the government’s money, but he confesses to his affair with Maria Reynolds and paying off her husband to keep quiet about it and is adamant that he used his own money and didn’t touch the government’s. Jefferson, Madison, and Burr leave, and “Hurricane” begins. “Hurricane” is essentially Ham reflecting on his hellish life in the Caribbean and how he literally wrote his way out and how he plans to write his way out of this situation too, by writing “The Reynolds Pamphlet” and confessing the truth about his affair to the entire world. Also this song was almost impossible to find a good screenshot of, so have a GIF of my favorite lyric instead.

tumblr_o40m1u2t6c1v93l42o7_500.gif

AND I CAN’T EVEN BEGIN TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS LYRIC. When I’m singing along, I literally shout this lyric every single time. The whole thing is actually, “And when my prayers to God were met with indifference, I picked up a pen, I wrote my own deliverance!” Many of you know I’m a creative writing major with bipolar disorder, and a lot of times I just feel flat out abandoned by everyone. And it is during these times that “Hurricane” just feels so real and relevant to me. And also on my graduation cap, I wrote, “I wrote my way out.” 🙂 A little nod to my fandom mixed with some creative writing humor.

One last thing though, these GIFs are from “The Reynolds Pamphlet” and I never got around to doing a blog post about that song and I would be so bummed if I never got to use these GIFs, so here they are, haha. If you’re unfamiliar with the song, click on the link above. 7748e73cfcc6c9eafb6cf41173830618.gif

4XBMGZCGG8l62I72EFGr59_9gpspxGwFhLrzB4a1LhI.gif

Okay, that’s really it!! Thanks so much for tuning in every week!

Bye!

 

Leave a Reply

