What Are You Writing?: Me!

me

As my project comes to a close for the semester, I figured I would talk about myself and my own writing for my final post. Much narcissism. Very wow. Anyway, my name is Nikole and I am pure Hamilton trash. I’m a senior at BSU with a Creative Writing major and a minor in Japanese. And I’m also in the honors college. I do not sleep. Anyway, here is my “What Are You Writing?” post.

First of all, I would just like to say that FICTION IS MY LIFE AND SOUL. I’ve dabbled in CNF but I wouldn’t say that I’m overly talented at it. Dr. Jones seems to think there is something there, but I’m not sure. I can’t write poetry to save myself and I’m mediocre at screenplay. BUT THAT’S OKAY BECAUSE FICTION IS MY ELEMENT!

I really really really love historical fiction, which definitely explains my crush on Philippa Gregory. (Yet another shameless promotion.) Aside from her books, I also particularly enjoy Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind.¬†I think in all honesty, I’m just a big nerd. I collect informational books about the Tudors. I don’t think I would ever have the patience to write a historical fiction novel, but I did write a piece written from the point of view of H.H. Holmes‘s victims for my ENG 405 class. Horror fiction is where I’m really discovering that I fit in. For my honors thesis, I’m writing a collection of horror short stories and documenting the process. So far, my adviser has told me that I have quite an imagination and that I have a lot of talent in this area. I hope to develop these skills further.

Apart from my honors project, I have written a variety of other short stories that are still hoping to be published someday. Those are being polished. I also have about a thousand novel ideas and tidbits stored on my computer. The problem isn’t thinking of new content, the problem is sitting down and actually getting them all down. As I’ve said before, I barely even have time to sleep.

I’ve been published a couple of different times. I’m part of a team that handles the English Department blog, so if you look there you will find a lot of my work. Like my main squeeze Cass, I’ve also been published on the Digital Literature Review blog here and there. My senior capstone, “Normal versus Freak: The Issue of Staring in The Rocky Horror Picture Show and Classic American Freak Show” was published in the third Issue of the DLR along with a paper I co-wrote with my mates Kathryn and Amory entitled, “Kinderbrutanstalt and Kindchenschema: The Child Hatchery and the Psychology of Cute.” I’m pretty proud of those, but when it’s all said and done, those are academic works and might be a little dry for your average reader.My work has been rejected a handful of times from The Broken Plate, the journal for which I am now the Lead Prose Editor and the class that this project is for. Ironic, isn’t it? I’ll try again once I graduate.internship

Honestly, my crowning achievement this far is from my internship with the Indiana Writers Center. I taught a creative writing class at a daycare and a high school for two days a week. At the end of each session, we collected the kids’ works and typed them up. After that, we selected the strongest works from each kid and put them in an anthology. The finished product is called I Remember: Indianapolis Youth Write about Their Lives 2016. My picture and bio is in the back with editing creds and I have a short piece in the book I wrote about one of the kids I bonded with. Buy our book! And thus, I conclude my blog for this semester. Mark (the teacher) says we’re doing another big project in the spring semester of ENG 489, so I will probably continue if I don’t think of anything better to do first.

Adios friends. Thanks for taking this journey with me.

-Nikole

Leave a Reply

