Who’s Who: Khaled Hosseini

“Everyone is an ocean inside. Every individual walking the street. Everyone is a universe of thoughts, and insights, and feelings. But every person is crippled in his or her own way by our inability to truly present ourselves to the world.” -Khaled Hosseini

khaled-hosseini.jpgI apologize for not having a more diverse group of favorite authors. ‘-_- It’s not that I have purposefully picked white people, I just really really love all of the people who I have picked so far. But I also love the work of the great Khaled Hosseini.

He’s the author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns which are both AMAZING books. He was born in 1965 in Kabul, Afghanistan to a diplomat and a high school teacher. His family moved to France in 1976 and then to the United States in 1980. At that point, Mr. Hosseini did not speak any English and was pretty shaken by the culture shock. He eventually adapted and graduated from Santa Clara University in 1988 with a degree in biology. After that, he went to med school and got his degree in 1993. Today he lives in California with his wife and children.

Unfortunately, I have not read And The Mountains Echoed, but I plan to get around to it after I finish my current stack of books I need to read. But if you haven’t read The Kite Runner or A Thousand Splendid Suns YOU REALLY REALLY NEED TO! Most people are more into The Kite Runner, but I actually prefer A Thousand Splendid Suns. Kite Runner is more about the turmoil in the Middle East from a male perspective and Suns is more from a feminine perspective, which is I guess why I relate more to that. There is a film adaptation of Kite Runner but I haven’t seen it so for once I actually can’t give an accurate critique. There is not currently a film adaptation of Suns, but a production company has purchased the rights to it. Here’s hoping they make one soon!

Again, sorry for not having a more diverse group of favorite authors. If I continue this project in the spring semester, I’m going to try to be more mindful of picking a more diverse lot.

Here’s a list of Khaled Hosseini’s novels and links to buy them!

The Kite Runner
A Thousand Splendid Suns
And the Mountains Echoed

 

Leave a Reply

