Who’s Who: Jodi Picoult

“You might not write well every day, but you can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.” -Jodi Picoult

thegreatjp.jpgToday’s Who’s Who is Jodi Picoult! You’re probably familiar with some of her works. At the very least, you’ve probably at least heard of My Sister’s Keeper. (The movie was DREADFUL and a complete and utter insult to the author herself.) Ms. Picoult is from New England and has degrees from Princeton and Harvard. DANG. While today she is known for her stories about love, life, and family, she once worked on the Wonder Woman comic book series. Today Ms. Picoult lives in New Hampshire with her husband, kids, and numerous pets.

So, I definitely have not yet read all of Jodi Picoult’s books, but I have read several. And so far I have not read one that I didn’t like. My Sister’s Keeper was the first one I read and I think I was about 12 at the time. It’s the story of one sister who has cancer, and the other sister who was conceived to be a donor for her. It’s super good and the ending hits you like a ton of bricks, but the movie is a sack of garbage and if you like the movie then we can’t be friends. You think I’m joking.

But my all time favorite Jodi Picoult novel is Handle With Care. That book broke something inside of me and I can’t go back to the way I was before I read it. I think it should be every author’s goal to move their reader the way Ms. Picoult moved me. I won’t spoil it because you NEED to read this book. But in essence, it’s about a little girl named Willow who was born with osteogenesis imperfecta which makes it really easy for her to break her bones. Which, as I’m sure you can imagine, is an incredibly expensive disease. That’s all I will really say about it, but the book does an excellent job dealing with themes such as abortion, self-harm, and eating disorders. It spoke to me. The ending broke me. I was never the same.

Other Jodi Picoult novels I have read and enjoyed are Keeping Faith, Nineteen Minutes, Change of Heart, and House Rules. Looks I have a lot more to read! Several of them have been made into films. But My Sister’s Keeper doesn’t count because it was the worst film adaptations of a book that I have ever seen. It’s been seven years and no I will never get over it.

Here’s a list of her books and links to buy them!

Songs of the Humpback Whale
Harvesting the Heart
Picture Perfect
Mercy 
The Pact 
Keeping Faith 
Plain Truth 
Salem Falls
Perfect Match 
Second Glance 
My Sister’s Keeper 
Vanishing Acts 
The Tenth Circle
Nineteen Minutes 
Wonder Woman: Love and Murder
Change of Heart
Handle with Care 
House Rules 
Leaving Home: Short Pieces 
Sing You Home 
Lone Wolf 
The Storyteller 
Leaving Time 
Small Great Things 

Leave a Reply

