What Are You Writing?: Daxx Lumley

Today’s guest on “What Are You Writing?” Friday is Daxx Lumley! Daxx is a senior Graphic Arts Management major here at BSU.

daxxSo tell me about your writing style. Which genres do you prefer to write in and why?

I really enjoy fiction. Especially novels along the lines of Harry Potter, The House of Night, and The Kingdom Keepers, to name a few. So I take a lot of inspiration from those authors. And why, growing up, I never really enjoyed life, and, for a time, I could escape into this far of places with daring sword fights, magic spells, and princes in disguise.

Has any of your work been published yet? When are you hoping to get published?

I don’t write often, so unfortunately I don’t have any published work, but I’m working on a novel now that I hope to one day have published. I don’t know when or where yet but it’s a goal I intend on keeping.

What does writing do for you? What do you get out of it? 

Writing to me is a challenge, one I don’t do often, so writing is something I hope to overcome, in a sense, one day. Reading, however, has been able to save me from nights of boredom and nights of depression. I hope that one day, my work can do the same for others.

What projects are you working on right now? 

Right now I’m slowly working on this novel, no idea for a title yet, but I’m still pulling together the plot. But in a gist, the main character, an African-American female, adopted by gay fathers, wants to know who her real parents are. It’s really rendition of the typical Greek odyssey tale, but also fighting against racism, sexism, and homophobia. The one thing I’m really looking forward to with this novel, is the fact that my main character, she LOVES photography, and as a published photographer, I’m actually looking into taking photos of places my character would visit and take photos of on her journey.

Daxx is one of my Rocky Horror cast mates, so don’t forget to come check out our show this Monday on Halloween night!!

Leave a Reply

